a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Running

I’m so proud of myself I had to post: I ran 2-1/2 miles on the road today with only 1 short walk break! I ran the whole thing, hills and all! Yippee! I’ll tackle that 5k no problem! My time was about 40 minutes for the whole thing. I had to go slow because, well, I’m still working on strengthening my muscles and bones, and it was raining and muddy. I hope to change up the routine this week with a few short faster runs and a few longer slower runs. I used to hate running but now I actually enjoy it. I never thought I’d see the day! I even got myself a fancy pair of running tights and a running shirt. I’m all decked out! I just need to get a good pair of running shoes. Suggestions on brands and types? I’m inexperienced at picking out a decent running shoe.

While I’m thinking of it, do any of you, my dear readers who may also be runners, have suggestions on resources for training? I’d like to learn about the body mechanics and functions, training programs, and race strategies. I’m going to do some research online tomorrow when I have my next free block.

I also signed up for a running journal. This one looks pretty good as far as I can tell.

3 responses to “Running

  1. leslie April 29, 2008 at 5:53 am

    fantastic job!! it really does feel good to get a good run in.
    i have looked into this site before. when i considered training (for a very short time) for a half marathon.
    http://www.marathonrookie.com/marathon-training.html
    good luck!
    i love the journal.

  2. jc April 30, 2008 at 11:58 am

    The best shoe depends on your feet. Go to a store where they just sell running shoes. Bring the shoes you are currently running in. They will look at the wear pattern of the soles. It may cost a little more to get your shoes at a running store, but in my experience it is worth it. Once you know what brand works for you best you can shop around for the best prices. I like Hal Higdon’s website for running training plans. Keep runnin’!

  3. Jen April 30, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    Thanks for the tips, JC and Leslie! I’m going to check ’em out straight-way!

Leave a Reply

