a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Fiber Field Trip and a Life Update

Saturday was the first of the fiber field trips organized by Greenchop on Ravelry. In the fewest words, it was a blast! In more words, it was an amazing experience that was worth every bit of the effort that went into it. Gari over at Maranacook Yarns was a gracious hostess and opened her doors wide with pastries and coffee in waiting. I was blown away by her selection in such a small space! She had every yarn I’d ever dreamed of fondling in that little shop. Luckily she’s 10 minutes down the road from where I am so I didn’t end up in financial trouble. šŸ™‚ Her selection of sock yarn, for example, took up an entire wall! She also has spinning wheels, roving and other notions for the spinner, too. I can’t wait to go back for the weekly knitting groups, monthly potluck, and the occasional wine tasting.

We moved from Maranacook Yarns to Sully’s Tavern in Winthrop. If you’ve never been and you’re in the area, shame on you! Their meals are very well prepared and satisfies the epicurean in me. Everything from their burgers (cooked to order), to french fries (hand cut), to their soups and salads is delicious and very tastefully presented (pun intended).

The group then went to Friends’ Folly Farm in Monmouth, Maine where we saw the weeks to hours old Angora goats. On this note, Angora goats produce mohair and Angora rabbits produce angora. Confusing, I know. It’s because both fiber animals are from the same area and thus named after their region. Pogo was very generous in opening up her fiber processing mill to us and allowing us to visit her animals. It was such an educational experience for this novice spinner and experienced knitter.

At this time, I’d like to give a shout-out to all the people who attended this trip: it was a rockin’ time and I can’t wait until the next get-together! Those who couldn’t make it, I hope you can make it next time! Darquilter wrote up a blog post about the trip, too, including pictures AuntieMame took.

In other news, I picked up some wonderful items while out and about that day. I purchased 3 skeins of Noro Fiji at Maranacook Yarns that I’m knitting up into a simple garter stitch scarf (25 stitches on sz. 10.5 needles, colorway 88 lot C):

And a skein of local spun 50% wool and 50% mohair from Friends’ Folly Farm:

I’ve been knitting on the Noro scarf all day at school during the down time and the hour-and-a-half meeting after school. I’m nearly done skein one. At this rate, this scarf will be done by the end of next week!

In more personal news, Clarence the Hamster has settled into my home very well.

He’s curious, active, and very affectionate. I heard that dwarf hamsters can be stand-offish but I haven’t noticed that with Clarence. He’s taken to Allan and I very well. Oft times, when I come home from school and say, “hi Clarence, I’m home,” he’ll come out from his hiding place and waddle over to his door to say hello. He loves his hamster ball and cruises all over the apartment in it. He’s not a fan of carrot, loves blueberries, not sure about strawberries and has yet to try celery. He loves seeds, though.

3 responses to “Fiber Field Trip and a Life Update

  1. DarleneP April 14, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    Nice post! I was glad to meet you on the field trip. Your scarf is looking great!

    PS – My Dad’s name was Clarence!

  2. leah April 15, 2008 at 9:29 am

    Thanks for showing us the little guy! How cute!

  3. Pingback: jeux poker tour gratuites

Leave a Reply

