a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Evening Constitutional and 3000!

Oh my goodness! I’m overwhelmed!! Since I’ve moved over to WordPress from Blogger in January, I’ve had 3000 hits! I never dreamed of having this many people pass through my little space! I hope my readers have found something pleasant, valuable, and inspiring during their stay.

Life has perked up since it’s been consistently around 50 most days. I no longer feel like I want to crawl under a rock and die. Not just any rock, a rock under a lava flow so I’ll stay warm. Maine certainly does not agree with me. Despite this, I think I’ll be around Maine for another year. And not just Maine:  Monmouth, Maine. With the education field going under renovation this next year, many teachers are losing their jobs and many districts won’t be able to afford to hire people. This means that the candidate pool will be deep without many outlets. We’re going to have a flood of teachers out of work. I have been offered a spot next  year at Monmouth Academy and I’m pretty sure I’m going to take it. The only way I wouldn’t accept the position is if I managed to get a job in Virginia.

In the meantime, I’m trying to convince myself that Maine isn’t that bad. It helps when it’s warm enough to go on an hour walk after dinner without feeling like your nose is going to freeze and fall off 5 paces out the door.

The sun is bright and *present* these days. A nice change from the winter gloom.

The ice is breaking up, too, which means that people will probably begin swimming in the lake within the next 6-8 weeks. Can you believe it? As a mid-twenties young woman, I think swimming that early in the year is crazy. But I have to remember that as a kid, I’d be swimming in the Swift River as soon as the ice broke up. I’d walk down the mountain road to the swimming hole, Tobey’s, and swim for an entire afternoon, then walk back up, stomach gurgling, hoping that Nana would have a peanut butter and jelly sandwich on the counter for me like usual. (I lived with my grandparents for a year or two growing up.)

Look at all the ice melting away! Yippee!

One response to “Evening Constitutional and 3000!

  1. outsider222 April 12, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    Is that the Swift river on the Kank?

    (I suppose it’s farther south…)

    People around here start wearing shorts and tee shirts just as soon as the ice gets soft.

Leave a Reply

