a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Internet Radio Rocks my World

I love internet radio stations.  I really do. I like them because they introduce me to music from all over the world that I wouldn’t have access to any other way. Some of my favorites are:

Live Ireland that plays, well, can you guess?

KPLU out of Pugit Sound is an amazing jazz station.

Whisperings:  Solo Piano is simply a beautiful station.

I use iTunes to access these stations at home. Unfortunately, my IT department at work blocks iTunes from accessing the internet so students cannot access music when they should be typing or researching. However, it doesn’t stop them. Students are sneaky. In the meantime, I love listening to these stations at  home and dream of the day I can listen to them at school, too.

4 responses to “Internet Radio Rocks my World

  1. Cupcake April 2, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    Ooh- I’m excited to hear about that Irish station! I love Thistle & Shamrock on NPR, and I’m sad a) it’s only an hour long, and b) the podcast is only song snippets. Thanks for sharing these!

  2. Timmy April 3, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    I’m happy you have discovered Internet Radio, Jen! I’ve been broadcasting on the net for a few years now. If you’re into Country and the 80’s and 90’s pop/rock, my station will further “rock your world”. I invite you to give it a listen. Perhaps your problems with iTunes will be solved when you use Winamp to listen to my station, XRT-FM. All the info and links you need are all at http://www.marinifamily.org/xrtfm – no commercials, no hokey DJ’s, just pure music delight.

    I didn’t intend this to sound so “ads by goooooogle” but since you are interested, I wanted to have you see what I have to offer.

    Thanks,

    -Timmy (marinifamily.wordpress.com)
    PS: Cool blog!

  3. Jen April 3, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    Hi Timmy, thanks for the message. The problem I have with iTunes is merely because the technology administrators at work deny iTunes access (or any other media player for that matter) to the internet. I work at a high school and it’s ridiculous what is and is not locked down. I’ve been listening to internet radio for about 5 years now and am not a new-comer, though. Unfortunately, I’m a jazz, blues, rock alternative, folk music listener. I’m not into country or pop. Maybe some of my readers are, though! You never know! 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  4. LittleWit April 4, 2008 at 11:26 am

    Thank you for reminding me. I had gotten away from listening to Rock&Roll.fm and was getting bored with my brief play list on this computer. I have been rocking out now for a couple of days. i will definitely have to check out that Irish station.

Leave a Reply

