a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

First Professional Observation

I had my first professional observation by my principal a week ago and we had the post-observation today. He was impressed! Essentially, I’m one of the best new teachers he’s seen in his twenty years as an administrator. This was certainly a good lift as I’ve been feeling the stress of the difference between my ideal classroom and my actual classroom. He said that I shouldn’t be so hard on myself and to know that he wishes he had more teachers like me.

Nice, huh! 🙂

As far as knitting goes, I’m still plodding along with the new ribbed sock out of Sockotta. I don’t really have time to sit down and knit to make significant progress so I have to be satisfied with a few rows here and there. It gets it done just the same!

I’ll have even less time now as I have to begin getting my application materials together for the new round of jobs. Ugh. Applying for jobs is so much work.

6 responses to “First Professional Observation

  1. jc March 26, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    Way to go Little Bee!

  2. habitsofamouse March 26, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    Awesome! That’s great to hear, Jen. (Not that there was any doubt that you were going to knock their socks off! (-:)

  3. Jane March 27, 2008 at 7:54 am

    Jen…I remember the first time I was observed by my principal. I was so nervous! In the post meeting she set all my nerves at ease. I’m home now raising my kids, but am getting the itch again. I miss the kiddos and the excitement of learning. You sound as if you are a great teacher! Our schools need more of you!
    jane

  4. Leanne March 27, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    Nice going! It’s always nice to get positive feedback!

  5. Kassandra March 30, 2008 at 7:56 am

    Jen
    Congratulations on your excellent review! It’s always a bit unsettling to have someone come watch you teach (at least I find it so) and it must be very nice to know that your principal thinks so highly of you!
    Also, thanks for mentioning Etsy in your past blogs–my daughter has found several cute items from there and it is a wonderful way to find and support Maine artisians.

Leave a Reply

