a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Knitting News and Life Stuff

The fancy socks are done and were worn to Easter dinner on Sunday. The second sock didn’t come out nearly as bad as I had imagined. And besides, it’s on the foot and toe, the very part that will be covered by shoes and slippers whenever worn!

I set aside the Mission Falls striped socks to work on the Sockotta socks because they’re lighter weight and I’m thinking spring. I have about 4″ done on sock numero uno. These are knitting up fairly quick so I’ll probably have the first one done by this weekend. I’ll have pictures soon. I’ve been too lazy to put my camera batteries on the charger.

In less happy news, I got and lost my first pet in 10 years this weekend. I adopted a teddy bear hamster from my local humane society and brought her home Saturday evening. She was happy as could be. She ran on her wheel and in her hamster ball and ate treats from our hand. She was the sweetest little thing. Then, Sunday morning I woke up and found her cage open and she was gone. I couldn’t find her anywhere. We put out humane hamster traps, searched the house, and waited patiently. Today Allan found her, dead, in the basement. She squeezed under the door and fell to her death. You see, the stairs to the basement are old and slanted, and there is about a 3″ gap from the door jamb to the first step. She must have squeezed under the door and fallen through the gap. It’s the saddest thing that’s happened to me in a while.

The only good thing is that, as unfortunate and sad as this is, it’s not the worst thing that has happened in the world. Earlier today, in preparation for my unit on tolerance, bigotry, and racism, I was reading about Emmitt Till, a fourteen year-old boy who was murdered in 1955 for whistling at a white woman. His brutal murder sparked the Civil Rights movement. I lost my hamster, but it’s a small loss compared to the continued hatred, injustice, and prejudice in the world despite all the sacrifices, laws, and changes enacted to make human lives better. For teachers or concerned individuals out there, go to the Tolerance Organizations page to find information for teachers, parents, teens and kids about how to be proactive with breaking down intolerance in our communities, schools, homes, and ourselves.

On an up note, and some what trivial in light of the content today, I’ve been playing this browser game, Travian, and it’s a lot of fun. I’m philosophically opposed to the war-like intention of the game, but I plan on playing without raiding other towns. Check it out.

With that, I’m signing off for the day! Have a great night (and week)!

One response to “Knitting News and Life Stuff

  1. leah March 25, 2008 at 9:52 am

    I’m sorry about your loss! I know my pets hold a special place in my heart.

Leave a Reply

