a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

It's a post! Can you believe it?

I nearly fell of the face of the planet as far as my blog is concerned. I’ve thought up posts but have simply not had a chance to compose them. Allan had spring break these past two weeks and this past week has been insane. I’ve been slowly making progress on the fancy socks, started my project spectrum 3 socks, and have been reading, all while trying to polish of quarter 3 and plan quarter 4. I also went to a talk by a nobel prize winner yesterday, among many other adventures.

So, knitting first!

I found the first fancy sock! It was hiding in one my all-purpose canvas bags. Sometimes it’s used for shopping, sometimes it’s used to cart around small projects. Well, the last time it was used, the sock stayed in the bottom somehow. Here is photographic evidence that it has been recovered! And you can also see the progress on fancy sock #2:ย  I’ve completed the heel and am now on the home stretch, ala the foot. With any luck, it’ll be done this weekend. I’m going to count this pair as February’s socks still, as I did the majority of the work in that month.

In theย  background, you can see my project spectrum 3 socks. I love these colors more and more as I use them. These socks are being knit in a 3×1 rib, with 44 stitches cast on using size 4 needles. I haven’t decided how to approach the heel. I’m thinking about making the heel the rusty color and the toe the reddish color. Or both heel and toe one or the other. Haven’t decided. Either way, I’m not going to try striping those areas.

I’ve also swapped completely over to hankies over the last two weeks. I’ve been planning on making this move for a while with the intention of cutting up and sewing some old sheets and shirts. My MIL heard about my plan and found a lot of hankies on eBay for me. They’re very pretty, but still a little rough. They’ll soften with washings, I assume.

I’ve also been doing some pleasure reading. I picked up Things Fall Apart Friday night and burned through the first half in the evening hours after dinner. I hope to finish this, too, over the weekend.

I’ll post about the nobel prize winner, thoughts on Emerson, and other such shenanigans later. I pretty much wanted to let people know I’m still alive and blogging. ๐Ÿ™‚

2 responses to “It's a post! Can you believe it?

  1. habitsofamouse March 17, 2008 at 7:44 am

    Hah, I think I’ve read this post about eight times and have finally found the time to reply! I’m so glad you found that other sock. I was about ready to blame it on a dryer, granted I can’t recall what kind of yarn it is, so I don’t know if a dryer would ever see it to begin with. ๐Ÿ™‚

    On that same note, socks I mean, I have to say that I love the colors on your new pair. As far as coloring goes, I would wait and see which color you prefer the least and make that the heel so you can use your favorite out of the three as the toe. But that’s just my opinion.

    Hmmm….swapping to hankies. I used to use them when I was a kid because my parents couldn’t afford tissues. I never really thought about going back to them. I guess that’s something to think about. I guess my only issue is the idea of having a rag full of snot in me pocket. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Maybe I’ll use them during all but allergy season. It’s definitely something to think about.

  2. Felicia March 23, 2008 at 5:55 am

    Beautiful socks and hankies ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

