a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

It's a Snow Day

Maine is getting buried in snow again today. We have about 6 inches in Winthrop so far and it won’t start tapering off until around 4 or 5 pm. I’m glad it’s Saturday, Allan is here, I have a basket-full of wool and projects, and I have beans going in the crock pot. The photo above was taken around 8 am this morning when the snow was just beginning to come down.

As I mentioned earlier this week, my focus has been on school this week. I’ve done some knitting, but have made only small, measured progress. I’m hoping to get all my planning done today so I can knit all day tomorrow guilt-free, and hopefully, come closer to finishing fancy sock #2. This is how far along I am currently:

This week was full of teaching/mental break-throughs. I’m on the Literacy committee in my district and we’ve formed a reading club reading The Differentiated Classroom by Carol Ann Tomlinson. This book helped me realize some of the areas in which I’m struggling, why I’m struggling, and what I can do about it. I’ve realized that I’ve been in a reactionary, survive the day mindset since I started. I’ve worked on moving to a proactive, plan ahead mindset to circumvent some of the issues I’ve had so I can actually start teaching the way I believe to be best.

One response to “It's a Snow Day

  1. Patty March 1, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    It seems your snow has moved to Nova Scotia! The scene outside my window has a very similar look to outside your window this morning!

    The sock looks lovely!

    I love your top border picture. In an earlier post, you may have mentioned where it was taken. Point me to the post because that spot looks just beautiful and I’d love to learn more about it! I intend on sitting down and having a good read of your blog just as soon as I get some time to myself. DH is home so that time is fast approaching 🙂

Leave a Reply

