a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

FO: Fancy Sock #1

Okay, so I know that it’s not technically complete. I have a whole sock left to knit. But I cast this sock on this summer and just now finished it! I feel that this is cause for celebration!! It’s a dark foggy day here so don’t know that I’ll get any good pictures to post of the sock today. I’ll attempt some in a few minutes and up date this post if I get some good ones.

I also want to note that this sock also represents my first successful and beautiful attempt at the Kitchener stitch. I’ve tried this grafting stitch several times before but just couldn’t get it to work. I owe my success today to Theresa (you know, Techniques with Theresa on Knitty) and her lovely spot on the ‘net. She has some very clear photos on her How-To Kitchener page and the directions are set up in such a way that you complete the two stitches on the first needle following one row, then the two stitches on the second needle following the second row. It is set up in such a way that I was finally able to get the Kitchener stitch!

One response to “FO: Fancy Sock #1

  1. Cupcake February 18, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    Congratulations! I think a single sock should count as a completed item. Especially of it’s taken a long time to complete!

Leave a Reply

