a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Dress Shopping

Some of you may know that I’m getting married soon! Yep. It’s true. Hopefully in June. It won’t be a traditional wedding, mind you, not at all. I think Queen Victoria was an egotistical snot with her white dress spawning the trend of wearing a white dress you’d spend a ton on and wear only once. That’s not for me. My ideal dress is one that makes me feel like a goddess that I can wear to any occasion I wish after the wedding be it a classical concert or a jazz club. My friend Amy was in town and took me shopping at this cute little place in Hallowell, Maine called Thanya’s Handcrafted Imports.

This is the first dress I tried on. Amy and Thanya loved the halter style on me. I thought it showed a little too much cleavage. It was definitely fun and flattering.

This is the second dress I tried on. I love the color! It’s not really red, which was a concern. It’s more a wine color. It’s beautiful and definitely a favorite of mine. I tried on about 10 dresses and took pictures of 3 of them. I kept going back to this one. I love the detailing under the bodice, however, it shows the underwire of my bra. If I go with this one, we’d have a matching piece of fabric sewn in under the lace bit.

And the green dress is wonderful, too! I love the color and the neckline.

Right now, it’s a toss up between the green and the wine. Right now, I’m starting to lean towards the green although I was leaning towards the wine in the shop. I can have the fancy drapy bow added to the green dress, which is one of my favorite features of the wine dress. I love the color of this green and it really makes my eyes pop. What do you, my dear readers, think? What’s your vote?

And for fun, this is me and Amy after shopping. We were thrilled to find so many flattering dresses for cheap! Both of the dresses I love are under $150! Can you believe that?

8 responses to “Dress Shopping

  1. Amy February 16, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    How out of it am I? I hadn’t even realized your blog had moved.
    I love them both! And I’ve got to agree…that green dress looks beautiful on you…it’s growing on me, too.
    The scarfy things would looks really nice on the back and the coverage is nice.
    James likes the blue one :o)

  2. Cupcake February 16, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    They’re both gorgeous. Congratulations- both on the wedding and the bucking of tradition!

  3. Jacey February 18, 2008 at 9:55 am

    Hi, little bee!
    Thanks for finding my blog and leaving me such a nice comment. 🙂 Those dresses are great; I especially love the wine dress. Gorgeous! I agree with your non-traditional take on a wedding dress. When are you getting married?

    -Jacey

  4. michele bango February 18, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    What a great blog!! So happy I found it…and congrats on your upcoming wedding…(my daughter is planning one for July) …I love your choice of dresses…very pretty 🙂

  5. Vanessa February 18, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    Love the green. It’s a little softer without being a whole lot traditional which it sounds like you are avoiding. I think the waistline of the green is more flattering as well.

  6. Vanessa February 19, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    Good idea on the wine dress in green. Can’t wait to see more pics, especially when the big day arrives.

  7. jc February 24, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    Both dresses are flattering on you. Do you hope to have flowers? If so the green may give you more flexibility for colors……

  8. Pingback: I am a busy little bee. « The Life of a Busy Little Bee

Leave a Reply

