a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

New Projects, Oh My.

I went out to the Yard Goods Center in Waterville, Maine to get some ribbon and embroidery-quality thread to make labels for my projects and came home with a few extras. I couldn’t help it, really, they were having a big sale! I kept my purchase price down under $30, which is good. Not great, but good. It won’t kill the budget.

Saturday will be spent visiting the future in-laws and borrowing her new and very fancy sewing machine that also does embroidery. I’m hoping to make up some labels to sew onto the finished projects I give to others. I got a nice berry and green color to go with the antique white ribbon. I think that’ll look nice. Now, it’s just a matter of designing the label. The hardest part is deciding what to put on the tag. Should I do “little bee knits” or “jen knits” or “jen loves you” or ” little bee knits by jen” or …. you see what I mean? I don’t know what to choose! And then how to set it up. What am I getting myself into?

While there, I was poking around at the sock yarn wall looking at all the options. I’m just getting into sock knitting and I think it’ll quickly become an addiction. I suffer from cold-feet and I love the portability and versatility of sock projects. And the boy loves hand-knit socks, too. I picked out three skeins of a yarn I had purchased before. It is Austermann sock yarn. I looked at the price listing and my jaw dropped. I could not believe what I saw: $17.95 for a single skein of sock yarn!! I nearly fainted. I had no idea how much I spent on it the first time around because it was my first time in the store, it was cramped from how close all the shelving units and display cases are placed, crowded, hard to move around in, and I was buying yarn for other projects as well. No wonder the bill was so high that day. I quickly put the three skeins away and started looking at other skeins at under $10 for 100g or around $6 for 50g. After looking around, I decided on a skein of Sockotta in #06 from Plymouth Yarn. It was on sale for $5.50 for the 100g. That’s closer to my cup of tea.

I also walked out the door with the new Interweave Knits magazine after flipping through and finding more than four patterns that I would love to make.

This is so teachery I can’t stand it! I need to make this over the summer for next fall!

And this goes with everything. I’d love one in this color, too.

And I’ve become a sock addict. I love the design of this sock.

And oh so elegant and feminine!

Simply lovely.

One response to “New Projects, Oh My.

  1. Kelli February 14, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    I used to think that $20 was a lot for a pair of socks. hee Now it’s more like, $20? What’s $20? If I skip dinner for three days I can buy another hand dyed skein. lol Well, maybe it’s more like, “if I skip one haircut . . .”

    I also think “3-4 pairs of socks or a sweater” sometimes. 😉

Leave a Reply

