a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

I Knit This Weekend!!

I actually had time to knit! Can you imagine!! I was so incredibly sick this past week, as you know, and I drove the hour and a half up to Orono between naps on Thursday afternoon. While at the boy’s new house (he just moved!) I sat on the couch knitting. And boy did it feel good!

I worked on a new set of mittens for myself. They’re made out of Berroco Ultra Alpaca in Peat Mix using the basic mitten pattern found in Katherina Buss’ book The Big Book of Knitting. I’m using size six with 40 stitches cast on and knit on size four needles. I love them! They are going to be so wonderful! I love Ultra Alpaca and make so many projects out of it.

As a matter of fact, I went to my favorite local yarn store Fiberphilia in Orono, Maine and planned a sweater for Allan out of it. I’m going to make the men’s striped sweater from Knit Issue 1 from page 16. It’s pictured on the second row of images, first small one on the left on the link given. I’m thinking blues and greys for Allan. Suggestions of colorways? I’m still deciding.

While at Fiberphilia, I learned that my talented knitter friend Laura works there now! It was a pleasure seeing her. I met up with my friend from This Mouse’s Den for an afternoon of knitting and it was the most relaxing afternoon I’ve had in ages. I also saw my friend Katherine. I haven’t seen her in months! It was simply serendipitous seeing all my favorite people, unplanned, at my my favorite local yarn store! Talk about a weekend!

Leave a Reply

