a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

An Ode to Caffeine

A few months ago I made the life-altering decision to stop drinking caffeinated teas. This came after the decision a few months before to stop drinking coffee. These decisions are a result of discovering that I have IBS (irritable bowl syndrome) and that caffeine is one of the major triggers.

Anyone who knows me well knows that this was quite a blow. I used to drink 4-5 cups of coffee a day. I could drink regular coffee before bedtime and still fall asleep and rest well. My tolerance for caffeine was pretty high. When I decided to cut out coffee, it wasn’t that bad, because I’d only been drinking coffee for a year or two at that point anyway. My real huckleberry was black tea. I’d been drinking black tea since early on on high school. When I realized I had to give that up, I nearly cried.

A pot of black tea in the afternoon was a daily routine of mine for years. Even when drinking coffee, I’d still have my tea tray out by my desk, with matching creamer and sugar bowl in the afternoon when I was done with errands and classes for the day. It was a stanchion, a pivot point, a given aspect of my schedule. And now, it’s gone.

I’ve since ventured out exploring caffeine free teas. I’ve always liked them, but now I have to find some that will fill that empty space. Luckily, green tea doesn’t bother me like black tea does so I can still drink that. But it’s not the same. There’s something soothing about putting a touch of raw sugar seeped with vanilla beans in the bottom of the tea cup, a splash of milk, and then watching it all blend and swirl as I pour the tea.

Ah. Oh well.

In the meantime, here are the teas I’m currently drinking:

Celestial Seasonings Black Cherry Berry: This one is very flavorful and worth the purchase. It steeps to a very dark red color and fills the mouth with wonderful flavors. You don’t need honey for this tea.

Celestial Seasonings Cranberry Apple Zinger: Another good one but not my favorite of their herbal fruit teas. Again, no need for honey.

Celestial Seasonings Mandarin Orange Spice: Yum! This is by far one of my favorites. The flavor is wonderful and well balanced. No need for honey in this one, either.

Celestial Seasonings Wild Berry Zinger: It’s a tie whether this or the Mandarin Orange Spice is the best of the herbals. I guess it depends on what I’m in the mood for. Definitely a keeper! Again, no honey needed.

Celestial Seasonings Roastorama: I just picked this one up today and I have a pot steeping as I type. I went to the Natural Living Center in Bangor and the woman who tends the tea section recommended this one to me. She said a lot of people who can’t drink caffeine anymore try this and like it. I’ll let you know how it is soon!

I’ll write more reviews later!

2 responses to “An Ode to Caffeine

  1. Michelle February 1, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    Way to go with quitting the caffeine. I was diagnosed with Crohn’s Disease several years ago. I hope things are going well for you!

  2. Jen February 1, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    Things are going well! So far 🙂

Leave a Reply

