a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Knitting News

The last month has been a mad rush of getting school work done. I have barely knit a stitch since my vacation to Florida at the end of December. I have been adding a few rows here and there to the Irish Wool Sharfik, a few rows to the moss stitched scarf for my BIL, and I’ve poked around in my stash and dreamed of future projects. My queue on Ravelry has grown exponentially in the last few weeks.

Remember the green sweater in Peace Fleece I was working on this summer? Well, the body is done. I simply need to put on the button and neck bands. When will it get done? Probably this coming summer at this rate. Just in time for next fall. The current hold up is lack of appropriately sized needles. I need a 32″ or longer size 4 circular needle. I’m currently plotting the acquisition of Knit Picks Options Needles to solve such problems now and in the future.

I’m also at a gridlock with the lacy shrug in Plymouth Royal Bamboo because I simply don’t have the time to sit down and practice the (simple) lace stitch. I tried it during my vacation in December and couldn’t seem to figure it out. That and I wasn’t exactly feeling patient then, either. I have a week off coming up soon in February. I hope to finish the green sweater then, and work on the lace pattern, too.

In the meantime, I looked through my stash today and found that it’s in decent shape. I don’t have a lot in there that isn’t being worked, or planned to be worked. Except some handspun hand-dyed wool that my fiance’s grandmother created. It’s beautiful and in sandy gold tones. Unfortunately, I’m not into sandy gold tones so I’ve had a hard time envisioning it in a project. As soon as I get my card reader from the boy, I’ll take pictures and solicit project ideas.

I also have several skeins of Knit Picks Merino Style left. I’m plotting a project for them, something in the way of mittens and a neck warmer to go with the fair isle hat I knit during my vacation. My only concern is dipping into color overload, so the neck warmer may end up being done in one or two of the more muted colors. But the mittens, I’m going to go all out on! Details will follow when I figure it out.

Also, I’m feeling conflicted over a few items in my stash. I have a few full or partial skeins of Lambs Pride that I simply don’t know what to do with. I worked with this wool when I first began knitting “real” projects a few years ago and picked this batch up a few months ago for a felting project. I ended up needing far less than I thought and now I’m stuck. I don’t want to use it, I don’t want to throw it out, and I don’t have any knitter friends in the area that are interested in it. I’m considering knitting it up, felting it and . . . giving it as a gift? Who knows. I’ll figure it out soon enough.

I also have a few pairs of socks and mittens waiting in the stash, too. Someday they’ll be knit up.

Leave a Reply

