a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Pass the OJ, please, and some cash while you're at it.

It’s official. I have the plague. No, not really, but it might be better if I did. I was so exhausted when I got home from work yesterday at 5 pm (note, I got to work at 5:30 am, nearly a whole 12 hours) I collapsed on the floor of my living room and woke up 45 minutes later. The unnerving part is I never laid down to take the nap. I must have collapsed and fallen asleep. I crammed in the work as best I could last night and went to bed by 9:30, nearly 2 hours earlier than normal. Today I am just as tired as yesterday but the condition has worsened. I have terrible constriction and congestion in my chest, my jaw and cheeks ache (stress?), and I feel like I’m moving through water. I’d stay home and have the school call a sub if it were not for the fact that these are the final days of the quarter and I have to be at school for my students. They have projects coming due and exams to study for and they need me there to be a sounding board and stanchion. I just hope I survive.

The most disappointing part of being sick is that I was making really good progress with my training. I won’t be able to get on the treadmill for at least a week. Blech.

To make matters worse, money is a major issue right now. Here’s the story:

Back in June, after I graduated from my Masters program, I talked to the loan officer on campus and she told me that I had a nine month grace on my Stafford loans. I was shocked and confused. “Nine months, really?” I asked. “Yes, they changed it. You have nine months” came the reply. I was taking an exit exam and 9 months was the correct answer so I bought it. Fast forward to a few days ago. I was checking my loans online to get ready to start paying them in another month and was shocked when I saw that I owed nearly $1000 Jan. 28 because I had a late payment and a late fee on top of what was due in January. I nearly collapsed on the spot. I haven’t paid anything late in 2-1/2 years and I’ve been meticulously building my credit since I paid off all my old debt. And now, here I am with a late payment on my student loans. I called Sallie Mae and they assured me that the grace period was indeed 6-months and they have no idea why I was told 9. I ended up paying the late amount via check online only to find out when I double-checked my bank account that I was $20 short. Crappers. Allan had to transfer money via PayPal to me which, luckily, posted before the payment came through. The worst part is I have another loan payment due on the 17th for my Perkins loans. I am totally screwed. Luckily this Friday is payday, but it won’t save me from the inevitable money-crisis.

Furthermore, my electric bill is astronomical and I have no idea why. The last two bills have been under $20 and this one is $55. What on earth happened? Nothing is different. Nothing. I was walking on the treadmill during those two months, so it wasn’t the training. I have no idea why it is $35 more than usual. And it’s not heating, either, because my landlord pays for the heat.

On top of all of this, remember the post a few weeks ago about the fraudulent phone bill? Well, I can’t do a damned thing about it so I have to pay Verizon $100 to clear it up.

Seriously. I don’t think I’ve had a more stressful month in quite some time.

Leave a Reply

