a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Currently Reading

I’m in the middle of quite a few books right now. This is not uncommon for me. I got in this habit in grade school and college perfected my skills. Here’s the list:


Losing Battles by Eudora Welty. The following book description comes from the inside flap of the book: Three generations of Granny Vaughn’s descendants gather at her Mississippi home to celebrate her 90th birthday. Possessed of the true storyteller’s gift, the members of this clan cannot resist the temptation to swap tales.

I’m only on page three and I like it. Welty’s eye for detail and description is amazing. This is the first of her book’s I’ve read. It definitely won’t be the last.


A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini. The following book description comes from the inside flap of the book: A Thousand Splendid Suns is a breathtaking story set against the volatile events of Afghanistan’s last thirty years–from the Soviet invasion to the reign of the Taliban to post-Taliban rebuilding–that puts the violence, fear, hope, and faith of this country in intimate, human terms. It is a tale of two generations of characters brought jarringly together by the tragic sweep of war, where personal lives–the struggle to survive, raise a family, find happiness–are inextricable from the history playing out around them.

I’m only a few pages into this one as well. I meant to bring it with me on vacation but I couldn’t fit it in my luggage. I hope to finish it this week. I’ll write a review on it soon.


Milkweed by Jerry Spinelli. This book was recommended to me by the Monmouth Academy librarian. It’s a young adult novel dealing with Holocaust themes. I’m going to read it and consider using it for an upcoming unit in the 1930’s and 1940’s.

Leave a Reply

