a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Recent Projects


This is my fair isle hat. The pattern is from Hats On! by Charlene Schurch. I’ve been wanting to make this for quite some time. I did make one earlier this year but it ended up too big for me so I mailed it to my sister in Utah. It was frustrating as I checked the guage, both rows and stitches, three times, both in the round and flat. Oh well. I began again the first day of my trip to Florida and finished it a few days ago. The yarn is Knit Picks’ Merino Style. I used the the following colorways in this hat: Iris, Dusk, Asparagus, Cornflower, and Vanilla. I really like the pattern and the yarn. Both get an A+ from me. The Merino Style is so incredibly soft and luxurious. I plan on using this yarn in more projects in the future.


This is my third Sharfik by Grumperina. The first two were in Ultra Alpaca by Berroco and came out very drapey and elegant. This one is more substantial. I like it a lot. I don’t know what kind of fiber is included in this yarn as it came from Ireland as a gift from Katherine. This Sharfik is over three feet long now. It’ll be done, with any luck, by the end of January.


This is a new project. I just got the Ultra Alpaca for this from Yarn Market on the 28th. Justin requested a scarf and hat set. He wants the scarf to be striped and the hat to be in a Norwegian Star pattern. I said okay. Then I sat down to start it. I tried a 1×1 rib and it looked nice, but I simply didn’t think I’d have enough fiber with two hanks of each colorway. Allan’s Sharfik and hat took 3 hanks to complete and I was nervous that getting the appropriate width and length would require too much fiber for my current budget and supplies. I frogged it and began poking around online.


I finally settled on a simple moss stitch because he wanted texture but didn’t want to detract from the colors. I think moss stitch is working out well. I’ll have to find a way to connect the hat to the scarf in texture so they match some — perhaps a moss stitch brim? I’ll have to think about it some more.

2 responses to “Recent Projects

  1. a friend to knit with January 14, 2008 at 2:59 am

    these are such fabulous projects. i love the fair isle hat!your photos are very nice. i use a nikon d50. they no longer make it, and it has been replaced with a d40. i love my camera. i also have a couple of lens, and am always playing with them. i do not have photo shop. the only editing i do is cropping. for me, it is all about lighting. i never use a flash. good luck in your search. and another addictive hobby! 🙂

  2. Jennifer January 14, 2008 at 3:10 am

    Thanks for the photography tips! My fiance has a nice SLR digital camera that I’m thinking about borrowing from him. I think he has a Nikon d70. But I’m not sure. He has landscape lenses right now. We would need to get macro/portrait lenses for the photos to come out right.Currently my photos are taken with a simple little Nikon CoolPix L3. It’s a 5 megapixel point-and-shoot. It takes great photos, though.

Leave a Reply

