a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Am I turning into a snob??

As of late, I’ve been fascinated by etiquette, conversation, and style guidebooks. I’ve been taking them out of the library left and right and taking feverish, copious notes in my little personal journal. And what’s more, I’ve been applying the tips, too. Oh my goodness, I’ve actually been practicing being a good conversationalist!!

In all seriousness, I’m taking up this vein of study to enhance my teaching professionalism. I know very well that I’m a poor conversationalist, as I am very much an internal person, and as a teacher that’s something I need to improve if I’m going to live through meetings, parent-teacher conferences, and networking social activities. And also, if I’m going to be responsible for teaching good behavior, I better get some expert advice on it!

Currently, I’m reading Talk to the Hand: The Utter Bloody Rudeness of the World Today, or Six Good Reasons to Stay Home and Bold the Door by Lynne Truss, the author of my all time favorite, Eats, Shoots and Leaves. Talk to the Hand is a great conversation on the potential causes of poor manners and rudeness in today’s societies, much like Eats, Shoots and Leaves underscored the rising international literacy problems. I appreciate her humor and frank discussion of the causes and implications of rudeness in the world at large and within personal relationships.

I also read The Art of Civilized Conversation by Margaret Shepherd with Sharon Hogan. I read this short but dense book in one sitting last night completely mesmerized and edified. This book is straightforward and offers tips and suggestions for any type of conversation you’d ever have. I found the first few sections, “What Conversations Are Made Of” and “Ten Rules of Conversations” immensely helpful. I already started putting them into practice today had major results. It’s amazing what a little forethought and awareness can do!

Leave a Reply

