a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

NaNoWriMo 2007

I have only a few days left until NaNoWriMo kicks off for the 2007 season. What is NaNoWriMo, you ask? Well, it’s National Novel Writing Month and it takes place from Nov. 1-30 each year. You have 30 days to write a 50,000 novel (about 175 pages). It’s a grueling, brain-wracking, how-will-I-ever-get-this-done experience but it’s well worth it. The goal is not to write a copy-edited and elegant novel, it’s to simply write one. The participant is expected to push out the content in 30 days and to edit it later if desired.

The numbers break down something like this: 50,000 words over 30 days would be about 1700 words a day. At about 500 words a page, that’s about 3-1/2 pages a day; sounds easy; sounds doable; but it’s really, really hard. I’ve participated in NaNoWriMo each November since 2004 and the closest I’ve gotten is about 20,000 words. I’m making it my goal to actually finish a novel this year.

This year I’m going to cheat a little and write a semi-autobiographical novel. I mean, I have a very interesting personal and imaginative history — why not use it? And it’s not explicitly against the rules.

When I’m done, I’d be more than happy to email the novel to any interested readers.

Leave a Reply

