a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Poem a Day


How can I profess to love poetry if I don’t read it as often as I used to, or should? And there are many poets I haven’t even read. Tsk, tsk. I’m correcting this, and many of my other failings by devoting myself to daily study of my content area (English Language and Literature).

In the spring I purchased the Oxford Book of American Poetry and I will be reading one or more poems a day, not just reading, but studying. If I get adventurous, I might just add in memorization!! Ha, ha. Unlikely.

Still, there are many things I want to know and the only way I’ll know ’em is by daily study and application of my mental faculties. As I don’t have a teacher to check in with, I’ll post my progress, thoughts, and readings here.

2 responses to “Poem a Day

  1. Michemily October 6, 2007 at 6:07 am

    Wow, what a cool goal. How’s it going?

  2. Busy Little Bee October 6, 2007 at 12:44 pm

    It’s actually going well! I’ve stuck with a poem a day, but I’ve yet to write about them. I’m going to do a great big post on them today, I think, then try to blog daily on the poems I read.

Leave a Reply

