a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Autumn is Here . . . I Think.

The weather has oscillated between crisp and sweltering the last few weeks, however, it has made a steady downward progression towards autumn temperatures. Gourds are showing up in the farmers’ stands and have made their way to my table on several occasions already. A new favorite is Delicata squash, cut in half length-wise, buttered and placed cut-side down in a baking dish. Bake for about 30 minutes at 350F and rub with a little maple syrup . . . yum!

Autumn also means the first rounds of illness are making their way. Allan and I have both come down with awful colds; luckily I’m nearly over mine. I was extremely ill for about 3 days, and felt awful for about 2 weeks, now I’m nearly well again.

This autumn, I’m experiencing a new feeling, one I never thought I’d experience before: a longing to be academically engaged. I’ve been in school for so long that not attending classes and having assignments to complete is an odd feeling, one I’m not terribly happy with. I’d probably be fine if I had a teaching job, a real teaching job with my own classroom, courses, and students. But simply subbing (read: sitting in a room for 6 hours reading a book and giving instructions every 40 to 80 minutes), coaching, and tutoring is not filling the void. I’ve taken to giving myself academic-esque readings to complete, and I’m actually enjoying it! This tells me that I just may have a future career in academia. I’d certainly appreciate it even after this short void.

If I could go back to school today to start a new discipline, I’d most certainly start with a BA History and a minor in Classics. In a heartbeat I’d get back to the books and library to learn a new discipline and complete it with strict academic rigor. That’s one thing I regret about my academic past: coming from a poor family with little prior experience with financial or academic success, I had no idea what I should have been doing in high school or in college to succeed, truly succeed. Yes, I did well in high school and in college, but I didn’t do as well as I would have with my current knowledge. Knowing how important steady applied persistence is, I’d have done much differently. I hope I get a chance to go back to school.

With a teaching job, I will have the opportunity to pursue further education. I’d also complete coursework for an ESL certification so I can teach English overseas. I’ve done quite a bit of research on how to get involved and it all starts with a few years of teaching experience in your home country and an ESL/EFL certification.

Autumn also makes me homesick. Not for the town I grew up in or for my parents, nothing like that. I’m homesick for my little hobbit-house with flowers, gardens, sheep, puppies, chickens, and alpacas. I’m homesick for the more home-centric tasks of every day life instead of the tasks that take me out of my home. I long for the days when feeding the animals, making sure the plants are watered and the fence is in good repair are all the tasks I need to worry about.

And that’s enough for now.

Leave a Reply

