a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

job updates

Okidokie, so I had an interview at John Bapst today for a long-term sub English job. I think it went alright. I had two interviews and taught a lesson. The lesson, though planned to be interesting, ended up feeling boring and like I was pulling teeth. I don’t think that bought me any brownie points. But we’ll see. I had hoped to use an LCD projector but they didn’t have one available for me to use. I should know by the end of next week if I got it.

In other news, coaching is great! I really enjoy coaching. Our first game is on Friday and I think we’ll do alright.

The asst. principal at LMS must be pleased with me because he’s given my name out to several people and he’s getting me hooked up with all kinds of great experience-boosting jobs. I had an interview after practice today with the K-12 Gifted and Talented Coordinator. He essentially hired me on the spot because I had some great recommendations by colleagues who work at LMS (former professor and MAT colleague). Having a good name helps!! He asked what I was interested in, both English/literature related and in general, and the topic of science fiction/fantasy came up. Apparently reading scifi/fantasy is becoming a big thing in GT circles and he plopped a few books down on the desk for me to read. So, I’m going to start tutoring some 9th grade students who have college level reading comprehension skills. Their lexiles are around 1300, which means they have a reading level equivalent of a sophomore or junior in college. The coordinator has up to 6 hours a day approved per tutor, but I’ll probably get in about 4-6 hours a week due to scheduling around student’s school schedules (tutoring takes place during the school day) and it pays $12 an hour. This will be a great entry on the resume!

That’s about it in my life these days.

2 responses to “job updates

  1. Amy September 13, 2007 at 6:18 pm

    Jen…that tutoring job sounds fantastic! Sounds like things are REALLY comming together! I’m so happy for you :o)

  2. Busy Little Bee September 13, 2007 at 9:24 pm

    Oh I know!! I’m so excited about all of it!

Leave a Reply

