a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

GG: Cloth Menstrual Pads

I went to Joann Fabric today and picked up some materials to make cloth menstrual pads. The pattern calls for 1 yard of 90″ cotton batting, and 2 yards of cotton cloth, but I couldn’t seem to find anything today: the store was completely redesigned since the last time I was there and I was very confused. I found a craft size (34″ x 45″) cotton batting by Warm and Natural for $5.99. I decided to give it a try. I just want to make 5-10 cloth pads, and that should provide that many. I was also thoroughly confused by all the colors on the wall from the bolts of fabric and decided to pick out some quarter flats (approx. 18″ x 22″) instead on this trip; they are 100% cotton, after all. I picked out three designs at $1.49 a quarter. I picked up a package of sew on snaps for $1.29. The total for this project is $12.34.

2 responses to “GG: Cloth Menstrual Pads

  1. Amy August 27, 2007 at 6:34 pm

    Ok, so you snap them to keep them in place? Do you do any water-proofing to keep them from soaking through?

  2. Busy Little Bee August 27, 2007 at 6:38 pm

    Some people put in a water-proofing layer: old changing pads or fleece; but the cotton batting is highly absorbant and if you change them every 3-6 hours, depending on flow, you should be fine. This is all according to my research, of course. I’ll be testing them out soon. All of the pre-made cloth pads do not include a water-proofing layer, and I assume they’ve done their research. We’ll see. I’ll let you know how they work out.

Leave a Reply

