a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Go Green: Next Step, Menstrual Products

As part of my quest to go green, I’ve decided it’s time to take the step I’ve been putting off for a while: menstrual products. I started my quest at my local health food/natural living center and found GladRags, made by the same company as Diva Cups. I also saw sponge inserts (looked like the stuff I’d rather get a big piece of to use in the bath, rather than put in my you know where), and various other types of inserts or pads. I liked the GladRags, so I picked one up. I purchased one, yes, you heard me, one “day pad” for $13.25. I felt really good about the purchase, since using washable cloth will save sending all that bloody synthetic stuff to the garbage heap, and it would save a bundle of money.

Enthusiastic about purchasing more, I went to their site. I found a three-pack of “day pads” for $40 and change and thought: wow! I probably spend that much in three months on disposable stuff. I’ll really save money and the environment!! I did more research and found even less expensive and nicer looking ones.

This got me thinking: I have a sewing machine and decent sewing skills. I bet I could make some! I did more research and came across a fantastic pattern that I plan on using for my first round. The pattern comes from Jan Andrea’s Baby Crafts. She states that she can make about 15 pads for about $7!! Amazing! And I thought $13.25 was reasonable for one!

Guess what I’ll be doing next weekend? Sewing!

2 responses to “Go Green: Next Step, Menstrual Products

  1. Amy August 25, 2007 at 11:10 pm

    I’ve heard the the Diva Cup is totally awesome! If you use that alone, you probably won’t even have to use the pads.I’m about the take the DC plunge myself!

  2. Busy Little Bee August 25, 2007 at 11:26 pm

    Yeah, I’ve thought about the DC, but I’m not huge on insertion products – I’ve had too many problems with them in the past. Besides, how cool is choosing what to menstruate on? 🙂 I’m going to have so much fun picking out fabrics!

Leave a Reply

