a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Job Hunting: A History


I am presently in the market for a teaching job, and primarily within a 45-minute radius of Blacksburg, Virginia. I never knew how frustrating trying to get a job out of state is! I completely blew a phone interview with the one and only school who has called me. It’s their fault, when it comes down to it: they called me fifteen minutes late! I sent them a thank you note and then followed up asking if and when they would like to see me in person (trying to buy time to hear from some of the others and hopefully make one trip) and I’ve heard nothing back.

So, total, I’ve got 5 applications out: Pulaski County, VA; Montgomery County, VA; City of Salem Schools, VA; Floyd County, VA; and Bangor Schools, ME. So far, the only one that seems feasible at all is Bangor.

I’m lucky that Bangor High School has a long-standing track record for hiring from within, including student teachers. I’m also very lucky that the Department Chair and my mentor teacher think I’m doing fantastic. It seems as though this is the only real option right now.

The worst part of the job hunting is that everyone I talk to, vent to, tells me that it’s still really early in the education job season: most of the jobs will be appearing in May or June. They don’t quite understand how stressful it is to wait for jobs to apply to until May or June when my lease ends June 9, my last day of student teaching is June 8, I have a Praxis PLT exam on June 9, and I have no housing lined up. Urgh.

So, in a nutshell, I’m freaking out about not having a job yet, not knowing where I’m going to be living after June 9, and trying to figure out how I’m going to hold it all together.

One response to “Job Hunting: A History

  1. Amy May 11, 2007 at 9:53 pm

    Ok, yeah that totally stinks. Don’t blame you for being stressed. Just remember that it will work out somehow…even if feels like it won’t. Things work out. Ok, and don’t stay in Bangor is Alan’s going to VA…you guys need to be together!!!

Leave a Reply

