a girl and her boy

. daily life : wool obsession : bibliomania : living on purpose .

Food Love: Pumpkin Chip Pizzert and Kale Crisps.

I love food related blogs/posts. They inspire me to get creative in the kitchen and to explore new ways of providing nourishment for Gabe and me. Here is my recent inspiration from the blogosphere.

THE PIZZERT. MY VERSION:  PUMPKIN CHIP PIZZERT

I came across a drool-worthy post Sunday afternoon by my long-time favorite writer on her blog Berlin’s Whimsy. I devoured the photos of her baked creation through the laptop screen then followed the link over to  Chocolate-Covered Katie where I found the baseline recipe for the Pizzert and encouragement to experiment.

Copyright Berlin Whimsy. BW's beautiful pizzert.

I didn’t wait to try my hand at modifying.

Copyright Chocolate-Covered Katie. CCK's pizzert.

As a modification, as I’m learning grain-free baking and cooking since figuring out my body can’t digest grains, I decided to try using almond flour instead of the wheat flour called for in the original recipe. Except I didn’t have almond flour. I had a 3 lbs. bag of almonds. Without delay, I pulled the Cuisinart Mini-Prep food processor out from under the counter and poured a handful of almonds in the bowl. As the blades began whirring, I hoped that I wasn’t about to kill the poor little electronic device! It made such an awful racket and seemed to struggle at first.

DSCN8123

Go, Mini-Prep, go!

 

DSCN8130

Ehh, it might work...

 

The results looked more like paste than flour, but I went with it. I added almond milk for the liquid, a few swirls of agave (though I am beginning to have my doubts about using this sweetener), pumpkin puree, and chocolate chips to round it out. I poured the batter into my newest and favorite pie plate and set it in the oven at 350 degrees to bake alongside the kale crisps I was making at the time of reading the post.

DSCN8132

I love this pie plate! Who'da'thunk it came from Christmas Tree Shop!

I crouched in front of the oven with fingers crossed. When the edges began rising much like those of a traditional brownie or cake batter, I squealed in delight. It was working, thus far!

DSCN8150

Woo-hoo! It's rising! Never thought I'd be so excited about a simple thing. =D

It looked fantastic while in the oven. It tasted fantastic when I dipped into it. Two problems though:  1) I forgot to butter the pie plate so it stuck; 2) the almond paste was a little heavy and the pizzert was only about a quarter-inch thick at best. Next time, I’ll either use almond flour from a mill that I buy at the store, or I’ll talk with Gabe’s mom before grinding the nuts. I know she grinds her own macadamia nuts for pie crust; she must have suggestions for grinding almonds and other nuts.

DSCN8153

Here is my pumpkin chip pizzert, flaws and all.

 

At least it tasted good! I’ll work on it and make the next one even better.

KALE CRISPS

DSCN8140

Yuuuuum! Did I mention how much I <3 kale crisps?

 

I love kale. I love kale crisps. I love nourishing my body with this super-food leafy green. The process of making kale crisps is quite easy but can be a bit of an oily mess if you’re anything like me in the kitchen.

Today, when I made the kale crisps, I used a bunch of kale, olive oil in a mister, and a little salt to sprinkle on top. In the future, however, I’d use a fat source that is stable under high heat like butter or coconut oil and sprinkle the crisps with garlic powder instead of salt.

Kale crisp making basics:  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Chop and rinse the kale. Place the kale on a baking sheet and mist with olive oil. Sprinkle with salt. Place in the oven. I honestly don’t know how long to put them in the oven because I’ve never timed it. I leave them in there until the edges start turning a dark reddish brown color and they are crispy to the touch. Maybe 10-15 minutes?

I always buy two bunches when I make kale crisps because I know that the first batch will only result in half of the amount available because as I put it away it’s “one for me, one for the bowl.” :)

One of the significant reasons I so heartily appreciate this preparation is that it provides that flavorful crispiness while providing a lot of nutrients. They are as satisfying as a potato chip while packing a body-loving punch! The Gluten-Free Girl wrote about kale crisps as well as Organic Thrifty, as well. I loved their posts and they’ve inspired me to make significant changes in the way I make the next batch.

Happy Monday, all!

8 responses to “Food Love: Pumpkin Chip Pizzert and Kale Crisps.

  1. Chocolate-Covered Katie January 24, 2011 at 7:44 am

    Oh you are TOO sweet!! :) :) :)
    Seeing this post just made my day. Your blog is adorable!

  2. LittleWit January 24, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    So can you sub almond flour in place of flour in most recipes? Because that may be a brilliant revelation for me. :)

    • Jen January 24, 2011 at 1:12 pm

      Yes, you can! I have been subbing either coconut flour or almond flour for the last week with little discernible difference. Berlin’s Whimsy has been subbing it for a while with great success.

      • LittleWit January 24, 2011 at 1:35 pm

        Oh that’s brilliant. I now have a one skillet cookie recipe I want to try out tonight that I was going to have to wait to try until after my grain fast! :) I’ve really been missing some of the baked goods around here.

  3. Gabe February 2, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    More kale chips, please!

  4. TK February 9, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    OMG! I do not love kale, but we tried these kale chips last night and I am hooked! I may be coming around to kale. Just don’t give it to me cooked.

  5. TK February 9, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    I mean steamed, obviously the chips are cooked and delish.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

